28 Feb, 2009, Barm wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
Hey Everyone,

I registered the other day and wanted to say hello. Last year I started coding a MUD in Python. My approach is single-threaded, tick-less, with an event scheduler and game data stored in YAML files. Eventually, persistent data will go into a SQLite database (especially since it's built into Python now).

I used to run a BBS in the early 90's and wrote some utilities and a couple DOOR games. I really enjoy working with Python and this is a chance to scratch on old itch.

Anyways, I had one of those moments where you sit back and say "Oh, that's cool" and wanted to share. I was coding an administrative shutdown procedure and wanted to give the users a little bit of warning when it's coming. My event scheduler takes a delay, a function, and an optional set of arguments. I was pondering where to stick these little one-use functions and then I remembered you can nest functions in Python (which I rarely use). My shutdown function became:

def shutdown(client):

"""Shutdown the server with a ten second warning to users."""

def second_warning():
broadcast("\n!! Server shutdown in 5 seconds. Please log off.\n")

def kill():
shared.SERVER_RUN = False

if client.verb_args:
client.send('\nShutdown command takes no arguments.')

else:
broadcast("\n!! Server shutdown in 10 seconds. Please log off.\n")
THE_SCHEDULER.add(5, second_warning)
THE_SCHEDULER.add(10, kill)

And testing it gave me:

$ telnet localhost 7777
Trying 127.0.0.1…
Connected to localhost.
Escape character is '^]'.
You enter The Lobby.
Welcome.
You may 'load' an existing character or 'create' a new one.

You receive a new ability: load
You receive a new ability: create
You receive a new ability: help
You receive a new ability: quit
You receive a new ability: shutdown
> shutdown fred

Shutdown command takes no arguments.
> shutdown

!! Server shutdown in 10 seconds. Please log off.

>
!! Server shutdown in 5 seconds. Please log off.