04 Jul, 2010, Hakuten wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
Im an experienced builder thats tired of building on muds i either dont want to play personally, or dont have players lol. I like a mud that offers clans and playerkilling. not to picky about what kind of mud, just tha it is fun to play
05 Jul, 2010, JohnnyStarr wrote in the 2nd comment:
So did you give up on learning how to program already? :smirk:
05 Jul, 2010, Runter wrote in the 3rd comment:
Well, learning to program is a more daunting task than most people realize at first glance.
05 Jul, 2010, JohnnyStarr wrote in the 4th comment:
True. It's nice to see people that stick it out though. It's the only way to really make something you're happy with.
For me at least.
05 Jul, 2010, Idealiad wrote in the 5th comment:
Learning to program is a long and sometimes obsessive process, I think it's a good idea to have other projects going during that time to take your mind off of it occasionally.
05 Jul, 2010, Koron wrote in the 6th comment:
Yeah, if I hadn't picked up mud code while I was a bored teenager, I would surely never find the time to start now. It's a long and difficult process, but it's also very rewarding.
05 Jul, 2010, Hakuten wrote in the 7th comment:
no actually i finally got smaugfuss to compile and run, but am still having problems with it cuzi cant use any commands when i log on with a player or admin. However i still like building and im not gonna abandon it simply cuz im taking a look at code
05 Jul, 2010, JohnnyStarr wrote in the 8th comment:
I've thought about writing a code-base specifically targeted for newbies. And I'm not talking about a friendly OLC.
My newest idea would be to write an application that has a GUI for windows / linux. It wouldn't be an area builder, it would
be a MUD builder. You would be able to customize EVERYTHING. You could define data types with wizards, create sub-systems.