16 Feb, 2011, Eithon wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
Hello all,

I'm a complete novice with coding, so I apologize in advance. :) I have recently been checking out codebases and playing around with them learning some interesting things along the way. I am currently trying to get Eye of the Cyclops 2.1 to work. I am using Cygwin on 32-bit Vista.

The game makes fine, until the end:

/usr/lib/gcc/i686-pc-cygwin/3.4.4/../../../../i686-pc-cygwin/bin/ld: cannot find -lmysqlclient
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make: *** [rom] Error 1

This is what is in the makefile:

rom: $(OBJ_FILES)
$(RM) -f $(EXE)
$(CC) $(L_FLAGS) -o $(EXE) $(OBJ_FILES) -lcrypt -lm -L/mysql-5.1.54/libmysql -lmysqlclient

I have mysql installed in c:\cygwin\mysql-5.1.54 (I ./configured it, then successfully make && make install, I think that's all I have to do to install it but not sure). I have searched my harddrive for a file named "mysqlclient" and there isn't one. There are however files named libmysqlclient.a, libmysqlclient.la and libmysqlclient.lai in c:\cygwin\mysql-5.1.54\libmysql\.libs

I am thinking this error is because I installed mysql in the wrong directory, but I've been messing with it for a few hours, changing directories and filenames and I just cannot figure it out. I'm sorry if this question has a duplicate thread, but the search function isn't working for me. Thanks for any help you can give!
16 Feb, 2011, Eithon wrote in the 2nd comment:
Correction to my original post:

Makefile looks like this:

rom: $(OBJ_FILES)
$(RM) -f $(EXE)
$(CC) $(L_FLAGS) -o $(EXE) $(OBJ_FILES) -lcrypt -lm -L/usr/lib/mysql -lmysqlclient
16 Feb, 2011, David Haley wrote in the 3rd comment:
Did you try downloading the MySQL package through the Cygwin package manager? (It might not be available, but I suspect but is.)