19 Feb, 2012, Shaelik wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
Hi guys, I'm new to this community, and I'm taking on a personal MUD project with Rom 2.4.
I'm looking for exactly what the title suggests, I had seen it many years ago in a MUD, I had played.
This map was almost entirely background colors and let you enter areas from it, and likewise leave areas to the overworld map at an x,y coordinate. Is there any snippet I've overlooked that could accomplish this?
19 Feb, 2012, Zeno wrote in the 2nd comment:
I think AFKMUD does something like that.
19 Feb, 2012, Shaelik wrote in the 3rd comment:
Thank you for the quick response!
Hm, I looked into it, but it's coded in C++. I'm not a pro-coder, so I'm looking for something in C, to assimilate into my Rom base. I do appreciate the input!
19 Feb, 2012, Kjwah wrote in the 4th comment:
The overland code should be straight C
19 Feb, 2012, Runter wrote in the 5th comment:
I generally think it's easier to express difficult things in C++ when compared to C. So maybe you should be interested in C++ since you can generally write C if you want while getting some powerful features of C++.
19 Feb, 2012, Rarva.Riendf wrote in the 6th comment:
If you have not start coding yet, better pick another codebase as well. It has numerous 'flaws' that can be very blocking as is.
At least pick the Ram one
19 Feb, 2012, Shaelik wrote in the 7th comment:
I'm actually using TinyROM, because most of my experience has been with ROM, and this base features color and OLC while compiling with minor warnings under GCC4. I've already got an ascii mapping system implemented, and I'm slowly converting structures over to my own class and stat system. A new base at this point would be blasphemous!
19 Feb, 2012, Ssolvarain wrote in the 8th comment:
Beware the heretic, the mutant.
19 Feb, 2012, Omega wrote in the 9th comment: