13 Jan, 2013, yue wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
I just got a letter from ITT. They have a program called 'Software Applications and Programming'. I'm not seriously considering this but it did raise a question in my mind.

I really want to learn to program, to write computer software, to design and build applications like MUD servers or clients, etc.. Is going to school for this a good idea? I don't mean financially, as a career, etc. I mean in this context: I can afford to go to school. I have the time to go to school. I am a diligent student, I know I will work hard and likely be very successful in my classes. So, that said:

-Is it an effective way to learn how to program?
-What types of schools or specific schools are good for these types of classes?
-x- University? Community college? Trade school/technical institute?
-Do I want to enroll in a degree program? Which?
-x- What specific classes are good to take/most useful?
-x- What specific classes aren't useful or good options?
-What math would be useful to have a working knowledge in BEFORE going to school?
-What math will I need to study once I'm taking classes?

That's probably a good start for now. I don't expect any one person to answer every question, though if you feel so inclined, it would be appreciated! I know there probably isn't a right or wrong answer to any of these; I just want to tap into this well of experience that all you programmers at Mudbytes might have and hopefully be able to make an informed decision before next quarter starts. Again, I appreciate any contribution to this thread!

P.S. I live in Seattle, WA if that affects any of your answers.

P.P.S. I would honestly consider moving to another state if a school there had the "perfect" option.

Edit: When I said "I'm not seriously considering this" I was referring to ITT tech's specific proposal. They spam me with offers like the Navy academy does in the mail. I usually look through it and throw it away but this one got me thinking..