29 Apr, 2013, Voridiani wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
So im new to coding and id really like to learn. anybody got a good resource guide I could use to get my feet wet?
30 Apr, 2013, Lograk wrote in the 2nd comment:
Learn C Online

Good for referencing, but as far as learning? Learn by doing. Get in the code, tear things up, and fix them. Once you do that for a good while, you'll start understanding how things reference one another, and how they work. Your going to get mad, your going to get frustrated, and you'll lose sleep, but after a few years and some practice and dedication, you'll get there.
30 Apr, 2013, plamzi wrote in the 3rd comment:
Voridiani said:
So im new to coding and id really like to learn. anybody got a good resource guide I could use to get my feet wet?

Normally, I would recommend apprenticing yourself to a game you like and learning from experience. But in your case, I second Lograk's suggestion.
30 Apr, 2013, Vigud wrote in the 4th comment:
Terrible!

char *str;
printf(Enter the string: );
scanf(%s,str);
printf(\n%s,str);

We can also declare string as character pointer as follows:
char *name = Learn C Online;

There are four storage classes in C:
1) Automatic storage class
2) Register storage class
3) Static storage class
4) External storage class

The maximum length of a character constant can be 1 character.
30 Apr, 2013, quixadhal wrote in the 5th comment:
Vigud said:
Terrible!

char *str;
printf(Enter the string: );
scanf(%s,str);
printf(\n%s,str);

Yeah, that's a guarenteed seg-fault right there.

C is not the best language to teach yourself programming, if you have absolutely no experience. It is very unforgiving. I'd actually suggest learning the basic ideas in a more modern language like ruby or python, or C# if you're using Windows. Once you're familiar with basic concepts like conditionals, loops, arrays, structures, etc… then pointers won't be so painful.