19 Aug, 2013, Camtire wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
Greetings everyone. I am a very new coder who started a ROM 2.4 mud with OLC to practice and improve on my coding skills. Using the resources available on this great site I have learned how to do a good number of things I'd never figure out on my own. There is something I would like to do, however, that I have not learned how to do yet. I would greatly appreciate it if people might be willing to help me or at least give me an idea on where to look for information on doing this.

I wish to improve the functionality of the holylight immortal command in these three ways:

A. Autoexit would show all exits to immortals with holylight on, even if closed/locked.
Ex:
[Exits: North East South (Down) (West)] <- Down and west are closed exits.

B. Look would show mob and object vnums in the room with holylight on, similar to the way it does with room names.
Ex:
The Temple Square [Room 3005]
You are standing …

[Exits: North East South West Up]
A small white fountain gushes forth. [3135]
A cityguard stands here. [3060]

C. Lastly, inventory would show vnums to an immortal with holylight on.
Ex:
You are carrying:
a map of the city of Midgaard [3162]

I apologize for such a huge request on my first post, and again if you don't wish to tell me directly how to do it, some clues would be appreciated.

Thank you,
Camtire
19 Aug, 2013, plamzi wrote in the 2nd comment:
I don't use ROM specifically, so any code I share may throw you off more than help.

What I did back when I was learning this stuff was to look for places in the code where it's already doing something like what I wanted to add. So, for A, find a place like the "open" or "unlock" commands to see how your code determines the state of an exit.

For B and C, I would first check if you don't already have a separate immo flag you can set to see VNUMs. If not, again, find the places where a VNUM is shown (e. g. OLC code) and learn from them.