29 Aug, 2013, Amore wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
Hi

I am new to programming these types of games but I know a little C++. I have a test server set up as I try to figure out how to do basic things.
my situation right now is that I am trying to make an elevator which would travel through several rooms I have created. I have been told I need to create a dynamic door to achieve this but I do not know how to go about that. Can some one please tell me step-by-step how to proceed? I know some of you might find this basic but I really don't even know how to edit an object like a door so it for example closes automatically. So when I say step-by-step I really mean it.

Thanks in advance for any help.
29 Aug, 2013, Runter wrote in the 2nd comment:
There's a few ways to model this. The easiest in my view is making the elevator a room that goes up and down.

Basically you'd programmatically destroy the exits connecting the elevator to the room and then reconnect it at the next floor.

It depends on the codebase, but some it may be less than trivial to accomplish.

You'd need some type of data that associates the floor to the rooms the elevator should connect with as well. Maybe some type of array of vnums.

The other option would be making the elevator some type of vehicle that goes up and down when controls are pressed. I think this is maybe more correct but also more work.
29 Aug, 2013, Amore wrote in the 3rd comment:
Ok first off, thank you for the quick reply.

Now, I like the Vehicle option you pointed out, however I cant stress enough that when I say I am new to this I really am. I have learned basics to room building and so on however I have no idea how to edit objects so that they are interactive. I'm sorry for my lack of knowlege but how would I make a room a vehicle and when you say "Some type of data that associates the floor to the rooms" I did place all the level option in the rooms in @set. If that's what you are referring to.