11 Jan, 2015, dracmas wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
Just what the title is asking. I'm considering doing away with a tutorial area
and just throwing the player right into the storyline. Add in a tips channel
that's easily switched off, and put a more in depth manual on a website.

Your thoughts?
11 Jan, 2015, Rarva.Riendf wrote in the 2nd comment:
My thought is if someone cannot be bothered to read instruction before actively play a game where you mostly read, then as an admin, I don't want this player.

Most players I had through time time skipped the tutorial and newbie area.
Then complain about stuff they would have known if they actively did them.
Most cannot even be bothered to type 'commands' and look if what they need would be in it.

You have the old player that thinks that he knows it all and since it is a based rom game, it will act exactly like ANY other rom game (though I cannot really blame him….most do because of peopl running stock rom as soon as they managed ro launch it while not even understanding how it works)
You have the new player that needs to be spoonfed.

You have the minority of players that dont really "need' a tutorial but will happily do it because a well done tutorial area wlll save them a lot of time of experimentation.

The in depth manual on the website is something else that can be done whatever your choice in game anyway. Make it dynamic though. Nothing more annoyng than a help that is no more accurate cause you changed it in game but not on website.

No, I do not do any of that, I am way too lazy! :p (but thats on my ever expanding todo list)
11 Jan, 2015, koqlb wrote in the 3rd comment:
It is helpful for some, liker new MUDders, it can be a pain to remove the newbie areas. However, it can also be beneficial in
some ways. And while there are some MUDs out there that don't have one, I say go for it. Just because my MUD doesn't
have the MUD school removed (for the sake of oldschool Rom feel) doesn't mean you shouldn't.