21 Jul, 2016, Rhien wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
I'm still using flat files on my code base which I plan on keeping, but I would like to insert data into a sqlite database for use elsewhere. I write a lot of database code, but never from C. I have the code below which works but as this is my first time writing to a sqlite db from a C program I wanted a sanity check it in case anybody can see any blatant errors I've made (leaks, poor logic, etc.).

/*
* Export data about each area file.
*/
void export_areas(void)
{
sqlite3 *db;
int rc;
sqlite3_stmt *stmt;
AREA_DATA *pArea;

rc = sqlite3_open(EXPORT_DATABASE_FILE, &db);

if (rc != SQLITE_OK)
{
bugf("export_areas -> Failed to open %s", EXPORT_DATABASE_FILE);
goto out;
}

// Total reload everytime, drop the table if it exists.
if ((sqlite3_exec(db, "DROP TABLE IF EXISTS area;", 0, 0, 0)))
{
bugf("export_areas -> Failed to drop table: area");
goto out;
}

// Create the table
if ((sqlite3_exec(db, "CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS area(name TEXT PRIMARY KEY, min_level INTEGER, max_level INTEGER, builders TEXT, continent INTEGER, area_flags INTEGER);", 0, 0, 0)))
{
bugf("export_areas -> Failed to create table: area");
goto out;
}

// Begin a transaction
sqlite3_exec(db, "BEGIN TRANSACTION", NULL, NULL, NULL);

// Prepare the insert statement that we'll re-use in the loop
sqlite3_prepare(db, "INSERT INTO area (name, min_level, max_level, builders, continent, area_flags) VALUES (?1, ?2, ?3, ?4, ?5, ?6);", -1, &stmt, NULL);

// Loop over all areas and save the area data for each entry.
for (pArea = area_first; pArea; pArea = pArea->next)
{
sqlite3_bind_text(stmt, 1, pArea->name, -1, SQLITE_STATIC);
sqlite3_bind_int(stmt, 2, pArea->min_level);
sqlite3_bind_int(stmt, 3, pArea->max_level);
sqlite3_bind_text(stmt, 4, pArea->builders, -1, SQLITE_STATIC);
sqlite3_bind_int(stmt, 5, pArea->continent);
sqlite3_bind_int(stmt, 6, pArea->area_flags);

rc = sqlite3_step(stmt);

if (rc != SQLITE_DONE)
{