14 Feb, 2009, Igabod wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
Alright, I'm working on making a website and I want a frame off to the left (like mudconnect.com has) I've got the menu.html and main.html done. I've also got a file called frameset.html with the frames setup. All the tutorials I've found online though are sorta vague as to how to make this work.

I want this all to show up on index.html properly so that when i type in the address without a file extension, my page with the frame and main.html shows up. Can anybody tell me what I need to do next to make this work? I am a lot more rusty with HTML than I originally thought, and I've never done frames before.

If any more info is needed let me know and I'll provide it.
14 Feb, 2009, Igabod wrote in the 2nd comment:
Ok well, I tried renaming frameset.html to index.html and change main.html to frontpage.html and got it working. I guess you can ignore this thread.
14 Feb, 2009, Igabod wrote in the 3rd comment:
I just tried to view my webpage using IE for testing purposes and found that only the frames are displaying. The frontpage.html portion is showing up as just white space. This is pretty weird cause I'm just using basic html that has always worked for me before with no problems. Is this just because IE is getting more and more retarded or have I messed something up with the frameset? here's the code for my frameset:

<frameset cols="130,*" frameborder="0" border="0" framespacing="0">
<frame src="menu.html" name="Menu" noresize scrolling="no">
<frameset rows="110,*" frameborder="0" border="0" framespacing="0">
<frame src="banner.html" name="Banner" noresize scrolling="no"
<frame src="frontpage.html" name="Main" noresize scrolling="auto">
</frameset>

is there something there that conflicts with IE or something? I am probably just going to design this site with firefox in mind if this is due to IE being retarded. I'll put a message up calling anybody who uses IE an F-ing retard on one of the frames.