01 Jul, 2010, Runter wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
That's interesting since a lot of people complain that ubuntu includes too much as it is.
01 Jul, 2010, Mudder wrote in the 2nd comment:
JohnnyStarr said:
BTW, I do love Linux Mint. I've been using it as my main OS for about 2 months now. What are you going with GNOME or KDE?

GNOME. As far as I know (I am not very clear on it) but GNOME is the most "windows" like while KDE isn't? *shrug* Which do you use?

David Haley said:
Mint is a derivative of Ubuntu, right? What's its advantage over normal Ubuntu?

After my search through many heated forum debates I found that the main difference is that since Mint is a derivative of Ubuntu a mint update is sent a month after an Ubuntu update. Apparently this means many bugs are fixed before it's released to Mint and also Mint does a lot more stability testing.

Mint does not come with a lot of the fluff that Ubuntu comes with, like games and such. Mint also comes media ready, with all codecs and such already installed.

Also almost everyone agrees that Ubuntu is slow while Mint is fast.
01 Jul, 2010, David Haley wrote in the 3rd comment:
After my search through many heated forum debates I found that the main difference is that since Mint is a derivative of Ubuntu a mint update is sent a month after an Ubuntu update. Apparently this means many bugs are fixed before it's released to Mint and also Mint does a lot more stability testing.

I'd be surprised if Mint did a "lot more stability testing". It sounds like they're free-riding on the normal Ubuntu testing and bug fixing. :smile:

Mint does not come with a lot of the fluff that Ubuntu comes with, like games and such. Mint also comes media ready, with all codecs and such already installed.

Which is technically illegal, which is why Ubuntu doesn't want to do it.
BTW, you don't need to install the games in Ubuntu…

Also almost everyone agrees that Ubuntu is slow while Mint is fast.

"Almost everyone"?