06 Oct, 2012, Kjwah wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
Anyone else switch to it?

Just curious if so, how are you using? In combination with Apache? As a proxy cache server? Your standard web server combined with php5-fpm?
07 Oct, 2012, Idealiad wrote in the 2nd comment:
I've put this in front of an app as a proxy / static file server. I'm no expert with it but it was pretty simple to get going.
07 Oct, 2012, quixadhal wrote in the 3rd comment:
What's it do for you that the existing (and well known/tested) combination of apache + squid + exim + imapd doesn't do?

IE: Why would I want to go to the effort, and live with the potential incompatibilities, of switching to it?

I see it's supposed to be good for high volume sites, which is exactly what the MUD community needs. *grin*
07 Oct, 2012, Runter wrote in the 4th comment:
Nginx is a good option in almost any situation. The only time you may not want to use it is if you already know other things better, or don't want to "go to the effort" of switching. Yes, it's true Nginx is known for performance, but equally it's known known for stability, feature set, simple configuration, and low resource consumption. The low resource consumption is going to be important for many of us. With almost 10 years of development and testing on high throughput sites, it's almost hand down the best facade-style webserver of this nature. It's the reason I use it at work where we have a demanding load, and it's why I use it for smaller projects as well. I opt to have it serve the routes to thin, or other web servers like this, but all of my routes hit nginx first. It's especially good for managing subdomains.