23 Oct, 2012, AlphaTech wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
First off, Im a newbie to all of this. Just ran across some old mud files my friend and his ex wife where working on and we would like to pick it up again, she did all the running and everything so we don't know where to start. with that said, I understand linux, preferably redhat i the best to use from what i was told as far as OS goes, but i'm a windows man, and to poor to have two computers. all that aside I have no linux experience at all. i'm completely lost here as to what to do. I know i'm going to get a lot of grief for asking but here is hoping there is at least one person out there that can point me to a tut or at least in the right direction that I can start figuring it out myself. I am a technician so I know how computers work, I have a bit of coding experience as well but i'm a stoner so i'm some what dense. any help is appreciated. I hope I put this in the right spot.
23 Oct, 2012, Idealiad wrote in the 2nd comment:
No worries, you're in the right place. First you need to give some more information and look up a few things:

* Do you know what codebase your old mud was? Can you determine if it will compile and run on Windows?
* Alternatively, can you download VirtualBox and a Linux OS .iso or net install image of some kind?

Answer these two questions and let us know what you find.
23 Oct, 2012, AlphaTech wrote in the 3rd comment:
I am not sure on what the old codebase is, all I know is that she said it would only run on Red Hat, (she isnt exactly a friend we can call hehe) aside from that I have downloaded Virtual box and am downloading Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6 server (I really hope that will work) though I am fairly sure it is all stock RoM code.

And thank you very much for your help.
23 Oct, 2012, AlphaTech wrote in the 4th comment:
I was just informed it was most likely programmed in C, at most C+
23 Oct, 2012, AlphaTech wrote in the 5th comment:
/* used to get new skills */