14 May, 2007, kikyo wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
Ok I am very new to using Cygwin and someone told me I could get it running a mud off of my home pc. I dont have the internet at home because I had just moved and we are still catching up on the new bills and won't have it for a while so I wanted to work on my mud offline. using cygwin since its a free program but I have no idea how to use it so I am hopeing u all can help me out.A few questions I have:

Do I need the internet to do so…
How would I compile the mud code using cygwin.
How would I start it up and asssign it a site and port
What would I use to log on to the code…
Does cygwin need to be open at all times for this to work?
What would I type to get it started?

If you all could help I would be very happy. thanks in advance.
14 May, 2007, Zeno wrote in the 2nd comment:
These should help:

http://www.gammon.com.au/smaug/howtocomp...
http://www.gammon.com.au/smaug/installin...

You don't need to internet to run a MUD, but in order for other people to connect you need it.

But I'm confused. In your other thread, you said you knew the basics. These are the basics of the basics.
14 May, 2007, kikyo wrote in the 3rd comment:
first off compiling on cygwin and a regular mud shell is 2 different things. but thx anywayz
14 May, 2007, syn wrote in the 4th comment:
You wouldn't assign a site and port to cygwin, the MUD would inherit your computers IP and the port that you have assigned in the code. Beyond that to have outside people connect, you would need the internet obviously.

If you want to learn cygwin you can do some simple searches through google and the like and get alot of information that way.

You would also use whatever telnet program you like to use just connect to your own ip:(port assigned)
14 May, 2007, Zeno wrote in the 5th comment:
kikyo said:
first off compiling on cygwin and a regular mud shell is 2 different things. but thx anywayz