05 Aug, 2013, Famine wrote in the 21st comment:
Votes: 0
I'll toss my feedback out here being I worked on multiple high-end MMOG's with account systems as well the Master/Slave systems.

First, I would say just in my personal experience as a coder, I wouldn't add anything that does not give you or your players a core benefit. You shouldn't just try to add systems just to add them. I only say that because it seemed from your previous responses that you just wanted to add this system just to add it rather than explaining the benefits as well "good reason".

When it comes to account systems for online games, I think it's always good practice to keep things separated. That means, accounts should only hold account data and characters should only hold character data. The only thing in your account data that has anything to due with character data is the foreign keys linking characters under that account. That way as quixadhal mentioned, you can apply and execute commands towards the account that effect all the characters attached to it. But most importantly, you can separate two sets of data (especially if they were separate databases) in two different locations like hard disk or even servers. This can improve your overall performance and give you more options for security.

For data structure more specifically, it can be good practice for splitting data up instead of jamming them in one place, file or table. For a database example, it's not uncommon to split character data up into multiple tables. A table for your inventory, a table for your character statistics, a table for your quest data, a table for your character logs and etc. The only question is if such a benefit works for flat files too?

Secondly, the whole master/slave system for accounts has been a problem for a lot of MMO's. It's also been a good benefit for them too.