16 Mar, 2009, Idealiad wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
A member of the TIGSource forums put up a tutorial on procedural map generation recently, and since it looked interesting and I hadn't really tried something like this I gave it a go. However as I'm a fairly bunk coder I'd like to get some feedback on the overall way I went about it. I'd appreciate any comments. Also I'm curious what other methods you have to generate simple maps like this.

This is in Python with graphics rendering by the pyglet module, any comments on the Python itself is more than welcome as well.

Here is the code at pastebin: http://pastebin.com/m27fa5e72

Some specific questions I have:

1. I use dictionaries to store the coordinates and tile type for each resolution. Is this OK?

2. Currently if you want to change the map size and so on it does involve hand tweaking some numbers in the Map class – is there a more general way to write the class so it accepts different Map sizes more gracefully?

3. While the code for creating each resolution is very similar, it is just different enough in my method that I repeat the general idea of the code several times. Is there a better way to abstract the creation of each resolution so that I could have just one block of code for creating a resolution, that I would call with different arguments for each resolution?
16 Mar, 2009, elanthis wrote in the 2nd comment:
I like the tutorial. Very well written for novices to the field – I wish more people wrote articles like that, especially for MUD developers. Heck, even I learned something from it! (The treasure-location trick mentioned at the bottom. Never thought of that.)