09 Mar, 2010, Deimos wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
I'm sure I evoked all kinds of involuntary vomiting with this title, since, by now you've probably guessed the topic I bring to you - choice of a programming language. However, let me quickly preface my textual mob beating by saying that I'm not a novice MUD developer looking to skirt the Search button here. I'm just looking to convert my (now) legacy C MUD project into a brank-spanking-new OO design, and obviously I want to move as far as possible away from C.

Well. I say that, but actually the leading contender right now is C#, unless anyone else steps up. Java is another serious consideration, because I really don't want to be constrained to a Windows environment (don't you dare bring up Mono or I'll…). Python, Ruby, Lua, et al. are also very intriguing, partly because I'm not very familiar with the languages, and also because simple, loosely-typed languages appeal to my RAD tendencies. I have some concerns with languages like these, though. Namely, performance. I know full well that on today's hardware, for most algorithms a typical MUD employs, the differences are likely minimal, but I'd hate to have to port the project again over something as silly as scalability.

So, that being said, does anyone have any experience with a moderately successful C#/Java/Python/Ruby/Lua (or other OO language) MUD? How did it perform for you? Did it scale well? How would you rate it versus other languages you've tried for MUD development?
09 Mar, 2010, David Haley wrote in the 2nd comment:
deimos said:
I have some concerns with languages like these, though. Namely, performance. I know full well that on today's hardware, for most algorithms a typical MUD employs, the differences are likely minimal, but I'd hate to have to port the project again over something as silly as scalability.