07 Feb, 2013, thebigirish wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
Hey there, so I recently started learning C++, with a friend. He bought some mud hosting services, we got winscp, a copy of circlemud and ready to go. So… how do I get my mud up? heh. I have circle, smaug, or socketmud. We basically want a shell, I think? Any thoughts, help, suggestions?
07 Feb, 2013, Zusuk wrote in the 2nd comment:
Hey TheBigIrish:

I can give you the default instructions for most mud-hosting service, assuming its in Unix.
1) Get a shell client, like putty (http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtat...)
2) You should have received login info from your hosting service for ssh. So login.
3) One of two choices, if you are using the most recent version of CircleMUD (which is tbaMUD) you can actually just take the most recent version from the repository. This assumes your server has SVN (which so far I have been 2/2 on servers) :P
a) Get latest revision from Repo, type this on your commandline from putty: svn checkout http://tbamud.com/svn/circlemud tbamud
b) Or if you have a copy of CircleMUD that is different, just unzip/untar it on your desktop and upload it to a directory using winscp (there is more efficient ways of doing this, BUT this is the easiest way I can think of)
4) Now you have your codebase ready to configure, with putty, from your commandline type:
cd <tbamud> or <directory name of mud>
./configure &
5) Now your codebase is configured to your server, time to make
cd <tbamud/src/> (you want your src, source directory)
make all
6) Now your mud is compiled and ready to rock, time to run it, go back to your tbamud (or whatever) directory, then you have to modify the autorun script slightly unless you already have port 4000 available to you. You should have received what ports you have access to via the mud hosting service
pico autorun
then find the line with:
# The port on which to run the MUD
PORT=4000
change the port value to whatever port you have access to