06 Nov, 2013, Davenge wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
I'm building off RocketMud and as such, I have to come up with a lot of my own stuff(obviously).

For scripting mob actions, etc, I was looking at using Lua because its pretty easy to learn and most people who are into gaming "scripting" already know it. The problem is, the lua language module doesn't appear(the documentation is not great) that you can't pass it ruby objects defined for its use. Like you would in C or C++. So I'm moving on from that idea, unless I'm wrong about this.

The goal would be to have a "script" with different methods defined in it that are called when the mob does something. For example, "big bat mob" might have a script somewhere /scripts/big_bat_mob.rb and within that is a method "def on_fight". How do I restrict access of this method? Do I do that by only passing it an object meant for it? Which would mean I'd have to create basically a object meant just for a script?

I'm new to ruby. What do you use for your ruby muds "scripting"? I've looked at TMud and CoralMud and I think I understand each in theory but ultimately I'm probably just lost !
06 Nov, 2013, quixadhal wrote in the 2nd comment:
Personally, if you're using ruby for your core, I'd either use ruby as your scripting language as well (so you can easily reuse code), or invent your own mini-language that does exactly (and only) what you want/need it to do for the purpose of content creation.

I see no value in embedding a different language, as then you just have to learn two languages, and support both. If you have builders who eventually want to help you with driver-level coding, they now have to learn a whole new language as well.