17 Jun, 2006, kiasyn wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
How about adding a difficulty rating to the Code repository? (Yeah you could do this in the desc but .. yeah)
17 Jun, 2006, Midboss wrote in the 2nd comment:
What if the author's view of difficulty is skewed? I've been told a snippet or two that I've written were pains the ass but I'd rate their difficulty (both that of installation and of the original creation) at a -5/10.
17 Jun, 2006, kiasyn wrote in the 3rd comment:
i dont know :P
17 Jun, 2006, Omega wrote in the 4th comment:
Difficulty rating would be completely coder bias, some coders think making a function that says hi to the entire mud is difficult, where-as someone else would think thats child-play.

Difficulty is a state of mind, i'm a more advanced coder, so when i do something, and it is difficult, i tend to note it within my snippet (if i release the code) that it was indeed, difficult.

My opinion on this is difficulty rating is completely based on the coders talents, if the coder sucks, doing something big would be difficult, but if the coder is really good, then they would gage it based on their ability. Its off skew.
17 Jun, 2006, Darmond wrote in the 5th comment:
mmm well you could get a group of coders ( some good some bad etc ) to rate the code itself for difaculty then average the scores that would cut back on the bias a bit
17 Jun, 2006, Midboss wrote in the 6th comment:
Good luck finding a bunch of us with time and/or patience to install every last snippet and rate the difficulty.
17 Jun, 2006, Justice wrote in the 7th comment:
Could allow any user to rate it… then the difficulty rating would average out as people downloaded and commented on it.
17 Jun, 2006, Dragona wrote in the 8th comment:
Darmond said:
mmm well you could get a group of coders ( some good some bad etc ) to rate the code itself for difaculty then average the scores that would cut back on the bias a bit