17 Aug, 2006, bael wrote in the 1st comment:
Votes: 0
several friends and i are trying to get color to work in our diku gamma mud. is color built into this by default and im just too stupid to turn it on or configure it… or will i have to get/write a mod to make this work?

again, we're running customized diku gamma code. im a beginner at the implementor side of muds… been a player for 10 years though. would appreciate any help i could get.

thanks a ton.
bael
17 Aug, 2006, Justice wrote in the 2nd comment:
Been quite a while since I've used DIKU, never did use gamma… so I can't tell you if it has color code support stock. I checked the repository for a snippet real quick and didn't see one. Anyway, if you need help writing a system for it, I can help with that. I've implemented it a few times in scratch codebases I was playing with…

Basically, the code should have a function to write text to it's connections, in that code you would need to add something that parses "color codes" into ANSI escape sequences. A search for ANSI on google should turn up some tables you can use. ANSI supports 16 colors, with foreground/background and underline/blink.
17 Aug, 2006, Conner wrote in the 3rd comment:
I'd think that you could probably download a copy of the latest version of SmaugFUSS and take a look at color.h & color.c to see how it's been done in SmaugFUSS (which is a Diku derivative) and then just do something similar in your codebase. But, as Justice said, I've never used gamma (nor Diku itself, for that matter) and don't know what color support you're looking at trying to change to begin with. So this is just a shot in the dark idea for you to explore.
18 Aug, 2006, bael wrote in the 4th comment:
thanks for the replies! i'm downloading that as we speak. i found some color code that i think is similar… what do you think about this… look close enough to start with? they are essentially the same, i think.

1. http://www.circlemud.org/pub/CircleMUD/c...